Future Leaders in Pain Research Grant Program

Congratulations to the 2014 Future Leaders in Pain Research Recipients

Grace_Peter_Photo Peter Grace, PhD
University of Colorado at Boulder
Boulder, CO
Exacerbation of neuropathic pain by opioids: a role for TLR4 and inflammasomes
Linnstaedt_Sarah_photo Sarah Linnstaedt, PhD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC
MicroRNA mechanisms mediating chronic pain development after motor vehicle trauma

The Future Leaders in Pain Research grant program was established in 2005 to fund pain research projects of doctoral-prepared investigators who have not yet attained NIH RO1 level funding. The purpose of this grant is to encourage research in pain that will add to the existing body of knowledge, and to allow investigators to develop pilot data that will aid them in securing additional major grant funding for continued pain research.

For additional information, please contact APS at 847.375.6332 or Amanda Pairitz.

Learn more about previous Future Leaders in Pain Research Recipients.

APS Future Leaders in Pain Research Grants Program Review Committee

Patrick M. Dougherty, PhD, Chair
Karen O. Anderson, PhD
Emily Bartley, PhD
Michael Caterina, MD PhD
Jin Mo Chung, PhD
Robert Coghill, PhD
Feng Dai, PhD
Robert R Edwards, PhD
Roger Fillingim, PhD
Perry Fuchs, PhD
Robert Gereau, PhD
Burel Goodin, PhD
Michael Gold, PhD
Richard Harris, PhD
Mark P. Jensen, PhD
Susmita Kashikar-Zuck, PhD
Asma Khan
Ruby Nguyen
Barbara Rakel, PhD RN
Laura Simons, PhD
Kevin Vowles, PhD

Board Liaison(s)
Robert Gereau, PhD
William Maixner, PhD DDS