Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain

The Rita Allen Foundation and the American Pain Society Announce the 2014 Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain.

The Rita Allen Foundation (RAF) and American Pain Society (APS) announce the 2014 Award in Pain. The RAF and APS may award two grants in the amount of $50,000 annually, for a period of up to three years to those research proposals demonstrating the greatest merit and potential for success.

Eligible candidates will have completed their training and provided persuasive evidence of distinguished achievement or extraordinary promise in basic science research in pain. Candidates should be in the early stages of their career with an appointment at faculty level. The entire award is to be allocated to projects specifically chosen by the recipient. Overhead is not supported.

Congratulations to the 2014 Future Leaders in Pain Grant Recipients


Gregory Scherrer, PhD PharmD
Stanford University

Molecular Mechanisms of Opioid-Induced Analgesia, Tolerance and Hyperanalgesia


Tuan Trang, PhD
The University of Calgary

The spinal determinants of arthritis pain: role of microglia and P2X7 receptors

Click here to view previous Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain recipients.

Rita Allen Foundation Award in Pain Review Committee
Charles Inturrisi, PhD, Chair
Allan Basbaum, PhD
Kathleen Foley, MD
Tony Yaksh, PhD